Spread the love
Lotus Blossom

As part of my mindset for this year, I am determined to be like the lotus. The lotus flower is known for its exquisite beauty. It’s known for its ability to transform into this beautiful flower, despite the murky water from which it grows. In Buddhism the lotus has become associated with purity and beauty, and spiritual reawakening. In Japan, the lotus flower is not just a significant symbol in Buddhism but also is also revered as a symbol of enlightenment in the Japanese culture. In Hinduism, the lotus has become associated with purity, spirituality, beauty, fertility, prosperity, and eternity. In the Egyptian culture, it’s been associated with rebirth and the symbol of the sun and creation. In many cultures and religions, the lotus flower has become a symbol of great significance and meaning.

In India, the lotus is the national flower, like in many other cultures and religions the Lotus’ ability to grow as such a pure beauty in murky water is the baseline for its status of significance in the Indian culture. So much, that the lotus is known as the seat of the goddess Saraswathi, the muse of learning. It is the central symbol of the Indian Psyche, symbolized by its beauty and non-attachment, and truest reality. Yoga, which originated in India as far back as over 5,000 years ago, is also significantly connected to the lotus flower.
The lotus pose in yoga is connected with the power to awaken your energy, calm your nerves and give you peace of mind. In the tradition of the practice of yoga, your energy source comes from your subtle body, referred to as the energy body from which our energy flows. There are 7 points to the subtle body, vortexes of energy referred to as chakras. If a chakra is blocked it can cause physical, mental and emotional imbalances in our bodies, leading to symptoms such as anxiety, lethargy, and poor digestion. These 7 Chakras are also represented by 7 different types of lotuses.
Violet Lotus 7- Crown Chakra (top of head)

Regulates Wisdom and Spirituality

Violet Lotus

Indigo Lotus 6- Third Eye Chakra (forehead between eyes)
Regulates Intuition and Imagination
Indigo Lotus
Blue Lotus 5- Throat Chakra (base of the throat)
Regulates Communication and Expression
Green Lotus 4-Heart Chakra (center of chest)
Regulates Compassion and Trust
Yellow Lotus 3-Solar Plexus Chakra (upper abdomen)

Regulates Self-Image


Orange Lotus 2-Sacral Chakra (just below the navel)

Regulates Creativity and Openness

Orange Lotus

Red Lotus 1-Root Chakra (base of spine)

Regulates Survival Instincts and Security

Red Lotus

The 7 Chakras are innate in how we respond to our environment and our ability to cope with life’s challenges. As I continue to explore my Yoga practice this year I tend to learn more about the 7 Chakras to help me own my self-awareness and how I respond to everyday challenges in my environment. I invite you to follow along in my journey self-discovery. Let me know in the comments if this is something you’ve found interesting and like to know more about or share your own experiences and knowledge of yoga and the chakras.

Lotus Blossom: The 7 Chakras


Hello, my rays of sunshine! I’m Jenna Gee, aka the Sunshine Artist, always seeking to brighten the world around me and seeking to help others embrace the magic that’s inside them. Every day is an empty canvas waiting to be painted and an empty page waiting to be written. Let’s fill today with the magic of the world around us!

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Lotus Blossom: The 7 Chakras

  1. Good afternoon,

    Hope you are doing well.
    I have nominated your blog to Liebster Award , please acknowledge the award.

    Wish you good luck and success.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: